top of page

OUTFIT OF THE DAY

LBD- Little Black Dress

Once I became a teen, I began reading Seventeen Magazine. I bought an issue from the supermarket every month. When they stopped carrying them, I would buy it from the bookstore after I browsed the teen fiction section for a good read. In the fashion section of the magazine, there would be something like, "Wear a LBD for a girls night out." At first I thought, what is that? It clicked when I saw the various black dresses lining the page. They all had something in common. They were either too short or were cut in a way that would show so much skin. My mom never would have allowed me to wear those dresses. I wondered how I would be able to incorporate this trend into my wardrobe without breaking the laws of God and modesty. When I was sixteen, I wore all black, but it wasn't sleek and it didn't compliment my body. The goal at the time was to be covered. Then I would wear a black short sleeve dress and a black cardigan. It didn't give me the effect I wanted. Sometimes I wore a black blazer with a black skirt, and a cute hat, but I wanted something simpler. I came across this dress on Amazon and fell in love with it. Online, it looked plain, but it wasn't something a few accessories couldn't fix. I finally had a LBD of my own. A Long Black Dress. It was smooth, chic, and made me feel so feminine! I am confident in my own skin, but there is also power in covering yourself up when out in public. I am respected and I feel good knowing that I am following the laws of God. The best part was that I didn't have to layer up too much to put this outfit together. I just threw on the dress and accessorized.

Hat and boots: Forever 21

Belt: Rainbowshops

Brown Global travel watch: also Amazon

Thanks for reading!

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page