top of page

Why I no longer care about the "Best times to post"


Before 2021, you could find me trying my best to post at 12pm EST. I've failed posting at that time more times than I can count. I used to beat myself up over it, but I don't now. I can simply share the post again the next day if I didn't get much engagement on it. I've stopped putting pressure on myself to upload content at the best times suggested by those in my industry. Many of these entrepreneurs you see that can post every day, all day are making millions of dollars a year and they have a team member(s) who edit and upload their videos/posts for them. If they are posting to their account, they have likely hired enough people to take care of their businesses so if they step away, their businesses will continue to run without them. Batching content also can help you consistently post at a specific time, but the time should work for you more than always worrying when a majority of your audience is online. The specific time of day isn't the hugest factor to having the algorithm work for you. The biggest factor is just posting great content that your dream customer/client needs.


For me, what time I post depends on the nature of the content, my bandwidth, and if it's the best usage of my time at the moment to sit down and edit a video. Sometimes creating a new video isn't an income-generating activity. Cashflow is just as important as branding, so if I'm not making money, I need to focus on doing that so I can afford the luxury of sitting back and editing.


Even the days to post used to stress me out. I knew my "dry spell" days were Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. If I was too busy earlier in the week, I would get disappointed because Thursday rolled around and it seemed like a desert online. It felt like a pointless action to still post. See? Mindset either makes or breaks your actions. It can either make you feel confident and motivated to do something or sad and not take action. Be a trendsetter. Don't be scared to post just because it's a "dry day" and other people posted earlier in the week. If you have something to say to help your dream client, post it! They need help now. Not just on the earlier days of the week.


Sure, if you have something really important to say, I would generally suggest uploading on a Tuesday. But, if your content isn't intriguing to your audience, the day of the week doesn't matter because your audience will have tuned you out. If you're an entrepreneur, your content must first attract the audience you want to attract and encourage them to respond to thought-provoking conversations you initiate. That's where the connection happens.


I also tell my clients to focus on being consistent. Educate your audience. Talk to them about what they told you they need help with. Make them laugh by sharing a relatable experience. Consistency is what makes people enjoy the content. You don't want to leave your dream customer hanging for too long. Who knows? Your competitor may give them what you don't. Showing up online once a week is a good start. Then build and build up to the point you train your audience to expect a great post from you two to three times a week. Or every day. It's simple to show up online every day. Don't let anyone tell you differently. You just need to know how.


I have to run, but before I go back to creating mouthwatering content for wellness brands who grew their businesses via word-of-mouth marketing and are ready to use social media as an additional income stream for their businesses, check out this video here if you want to be more consistent on social media this year! I have something special for you to remove your excuses and get started!


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page