top of page

Making Peace with 2017


I’m not special, but I’m one of a kind. I’m not perfect, but I try to do the right thing. I saw

a lot of growth in myself this year, and in some areas I still fell short. The biggest lesson I learned this year was to take a step back. Look at the full picture and let go of the things I couldn’t control. I was so busy trying to be strong that I lost perspective on what was important. Being “too soft” isn’t a weakness. I just needed to add a little firmness. Sometimes you have to let people go for your own sanity. Sometimes talking achieves nothing. People tend to understand action better. Some relationships just don’t work out. I also learned that some do in the most unexpected ways.

I endured loss this year in different forms. Family, mentors, friends. It’s a blessing to know the Lord. He’s getting me through it. He’s been watching over me all this time, teaching me things I could have avoided if only I had listened to him before.

I had been focusing on trying to make sure that others were happy for so long, that I forgot about my own happiness. What would make me go further in life. I took a step back. I realized that deep down, I didn’t have to suppress my feelings in order to not hurt the other person. We could both have what we wanted. I will not stop being selfless, but a little selfishness clearly can’t hurt. I will compromise, but also find a way that wouldn’t hurt me.

Forgiveness is essential. God won't forgive me if I can't forgive others. So I make it my business to forgive, love, and accept. It's hard to do sometimes, but no one is worth losing my soul over. No one deserves to have that power over me.

Change. Whew, change is a tricky thing because situations will arise that either tear you apart or make you stronger. And here is where faith comes in. When something comes to shift and shatter something in my life, I have to believe that I can put the pieces back together again. If not, I know someone who can.

My heart is filled with joy. I love my family. I love my support system. They’re crazy at times (okay maybe a lot of times), but they’re real and they care. I’ve made plenty of mistakes which is pushing me to do better. I’m ready to close this chapter. I don’t know what’s coming next, but I’m excited. You can achieve greatness. All you need is love, prayer, faith as a grain of mustard seed, and knowledge.

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page