top of page

The Headwrap: My Crown


1 Corinthians Chapter 11:5-10 KJV (King James Bible Online):

5 "But every woman that prayeth or prophesieth with her head uncovered dishonoureth her head: for that is even all one as if she were shaven.

6 For if the woman be not covered, let her also be shorn: but if it be a shame for a woman to be shorn or shaven, let her be covered.

7 For a man indeed ought not to cover his head, forasmuch as he is the image and glory of God: but the woman is the glory of the man.

8 For the man is not of the woman; but the woman of the man.

9 Neither was the man created for the woman; but the woman for the man.

10 For this cause ought the woman to have power on her head because of the angels."

Imagine being in class one day, minding your own business, when your scarf is yanked off of your head. The person who pulls it off of your head is your friend and he’s laughing. The classroom becomes deadly silent as the students stare to see how the teacher will react. The teacher calmly tells him to give it back to you. You take it, but you don’t feel calm. You feel violated. This happened to me in first grade.

I cover my head to show respect to God, men, and the angels. It gives me the ability to talk to God while showing him honor and respect. I humble myself before him and pray to him. That day when my scarf was snatched, I felt like part of my identity was stolen. I didn’t feel respected. I fought tears, saying nothing.

Covering myself up doesn’t mean that I’m body shaming myself. If I get married, only my husband should see my body. In public, I am to keep what is his covered. I don’t have to show anything to feel confident about my body. That’s what self-respect and self-assurance are.

I love wearing scarves because not only are they used to give respect to God, but they are also a fashion statement. I can wear different colors, patterns, and countless styles. I love watching tutorials of women tying their scarves, showing what happens when creativity and modesty intertwine. I’ve been practicing the turban recently.

My friends recommended that I try Culture Hijab scarves for good quality scarves. They feel amazing and they come in such cute packaging!

I love my premium mulberry scarf. Culture Hijab sells high quality scarves at affordable prices. They feature different materials, including comfortable jersey and featherlight chiffon. Get your favorite scarf today and save 10% on your first order! Use this code: http://i.refs.cc/f5vbi6Mn

Happy Wrapping!

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page