top of page

How to Break Up with your Clothes


We’ve all been there. We see a dress in our closet with the tag still on it, stare at it for five seconds, then move it over to pick up the one we wear all the time. Why are we like this?

To justify our actions, we say, ‘Oh I can match that with something’ or ‘I’ll wait until spring to do my spring cleaning.’ DO NOT WAIT. Get rid of it now. When weeks go by and you notice yourself repeating the actions that I just mentioned, it’s time to take it out of your closet.

Besides, if you really could match that dress with your jacket from high school, wouldn’t you have done it by now?

One of my friend’s favorite lines is, “I’ll get this now and then find something to match with it later. DON’T DO THAT. Unless you really plan on matching something with it later on, don’t do this because there is a high chance that the item you’re waiting to wear will collect dust, fade, or look unappealing. Make a plan by going online or to the store immediately to find something to match. The more you wait, the less likely you are to find that matching item.

I threw out a lot of clothes this past summer. I realized that I was happier, because I wasn’t looking at the same eyesores I’d been looking at for the past seven years when I went to get dressed. I was able to take myself on a much-needed shopping spree because I now have room in my closet for new clothes. I have friends who change their style every season, but I prefer to buy timeless pieces that I can keep reinventing outfits with. (But that’s another story for another time.) If you’re the type of person who gets rid of clothes every season, more power to you. We evolve daily, so why not have your style evolve with you?

Some stores give you discounts for donating clothes that you don’t want anymore. They recycle the clothes and make new clothes or even carpet padding! Some examples are H&M and Levi’s.

You can also sell your clothes online on eBay or Poshmark. I’m eager to try this technique because I never sold my clothes before!

Now, with all of these solutions, you have a decision to make. Either keep holding onto the clothes that you will never wear or say goodbye to them. Let go of that deadweight and realize that you and your closet deserve better.

So what are you waiting for? Breathe new life into your closet.

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page