top of page

9 Lessons I learned in my Fashion Journey


1.Trends come and go.

There’s a reason why leather jackets never disappear from the streets. Why maxi dresses keep popping up on the runways. They never go away. They just evolve, like our personal style. We get rid of what doesn’t work and try something else. Maybe head-to-toe leopard isn’t a thing anymore. So wear a pair of leopard booties with a striped dress. Wear cute canvas sneakers with a jersey knit gray dress. Half-glam, half-casual. The possibilities are endless.

2. Not every trend is for everyone

When I was younger, I tried to wear every fashion trend I saw in a magazine. It was impossible. Some trends aren’t modest or Holy so there was no way for me to incorporate it into my style. It’s okay if someone doesn’t like the jacket or skirt that you like. If it fits you and your style, wear it!

3. Don’t always trust your friend’s opinion of what you’re wearing.

We forget that the person you're asking has probably considered wearing that outfit too. We all have different styles, so just because your style isn't their style, doesn't mean that you look ridiculous in what you're trying on. They may not like it. Wear something because you love it. If your friend seems highly concerned when you're asking them for their opinion, they may be telling the truth. Don't worry, just check out what you're wearing again and see if it speaks to you.

4.You may have to try a few combinations before the outfit looks fantastic.

Sometimes when you mix and match pieces of clothing together, they look OKAY. Then, the next time, you switch out a shirt for a different one, and it makes your outfit look better! Experiment with different options so you can put the perfect outfit together!

5. Don’t just pick up anything at the store.

Impulse buying is a no-no. It wastes time and money, two things that are important to all of us. I can’t count how many times I went to the mall and bought something just because I needed a new outfit. Going to the mall at that time felt like a “chore.” I didn't love the things that I bought. Shopping should be fun. When you shop make sure to keep a mental list of what you want to add to your closet and buy those items.

6. Wearing common things doesn’t make you look less cool.

I dress different from others to maintain my individuality. On the other hand, it’s okay to wear similar styles or clothes that other people wear. That’s part of what makes a style a trend. A lot of people are loving hijabs right now. It’s feasible to put your own spin on the trend. Just try.

7. Dressing for style and dressing for comfort go hand in hand.

I’m trying to get myself out of the habit of wearing a smaller jacket because wearing a big coat makes me feel fat with all the extra layers. It’s cold outside! I love layering, but at times I feel like wearing more clothes makes me look like a huge ball. Lately, I have toned down on the heels and wearing weird fabrics. I like being comfortable in my clothes. At the same time, I don’t want to look like I just threw on something for a long road trip or flight. I still want to look fashionable.

8. Keep an open mind.

Experiment, experiment, experiment. Staying with the same style for a long period of time will inevitably put you in a style rut. Never tried metallics? Start small with shoe or a purse, or even a belt. Never mixed prints? Try to combine pieces that compliment each other. Have fun with it.

9. Click, Click!

Fashion most of the time means taking lots of photos. Some of us already take selfies and group shots because this is our generation. We love taking dope selfies and getting those likes. We want people to know our squad is #squadgoals. Taking pictures artistically gets better with time. (Hint: Future blog post on this coming soon!)

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page